Jeff’s Carlsbad Blog for First Time Home Buyers


Want to Impress Me? Here’s How.

Posted in House Hunting,Realtor's Job by Jeff Dowler on July 10, 2007

I like working with buyers. Having bought a bunch of homes myself, I guess I get turned on by the possibilities when a buyer decides to search for a home. Assisting someone with the acquisition of their dream home, and seeing their pleasure when they become a new home owner (whether for the first time or not) is a real ego booster.

I write a lot about working with buyers. Much of my buyer business is first time buyers, so I know that niche pretty well. I especially like the educational and advisory role I can take on when working with new buyers – there is so much for them to learn about the purchasing process. I help lots of relocating buyers too, in part because I have some personal experience in moving around – 4 major moves (most recently from Boston to Carlsbad, CA).

So, buyers, you want to impress me? Here’s how:

  • Get pre-approved up front unless you have made other financial arrangements – and let me know your financial situation (good and bad). Please be honest.
  • Make a conscious decision to buy and commit to that decision. If plans need to change for some reason, that’s fine, just let me know.
  • Have realistic expectations of what you can afford and what you can buy in your price range – I will certainly help with a reality check
  • Decide on the things that are important to you in your new home (it doesn’t have to be carved in stone, but if you have no idea that does not impress me as an agent)
  • Do your research , especially on-line – get some idea of where you want to be, and so on (I am impressed when buyers come armed with lots of information and knowledge, but of course I will help sort it our and clarify where needed)
  • Ask to meet with me to discuss your needs and how I can help you – I don’t mind if you interview several agents either, in fact I welcome it.
  • Allow me to share with you how I work and what I expect so we can decide if a mutual working relationship makes sense
  • Ask good questions – about the process, terminology, what ifs, potential pitfalls and more.
  • Don’t ask me to meet you at a house to show it without having met you first
  • Be willing to commit to a working relationship with me if we all agree it makes sense. I will be loyal to you, and I expect the same.
  • Be decisive, not wishy washy about what you like and don’t like. Be able to weed out the properties that are not right for your needs.
  • Give me feedback on what homes you like and why, and those you don’t
  • Be honest with me about how things are going, your frustrations, your needs, and our working together.
  • Do what you are supposed to do in the process, in a timely manner – things like your due diligence, reviewing disclosures, applying for a loan, and in general meeting the deadlines.
  • Keep me informed of any issues, problems, changes, and concerns

There you have it. These are good strategies for you as a buyer anyhow, so in that regard it does not take much to impress me.

If I can help in any way, please don’t hesitate to ask.

Leave a Reply

